Short Story – ‘The Trip’

I see my home in a field of golden corn becoming as tiny as a star in the night sky.

My little sisters are in the field, picking corn like I used to.

There are other girls in the truck just like me. They’re also wearing their best dresses. One of them is crying. Maybe she doesn’t like adventures.

I ask, “Please sir…how far we goin’?”

Maybe he didn’t hear me.

There’ll be a palace made of the colourful, shiny stones like the ones Mama used to talk about, in the middle of green rolling hills where children laugh and play. I’ll tell my sisters all about it.

I can’t move much. Outside, there are trees, so many trees, and roads I’ve never seen before and different smells that remind me of the village fair.

There’ll be iced tea and butter, fresh bread and jam served on a great big table.

There’ll be rainbows in the sky and women singing under the trees.

I think about why the man in the suit didn’t answer me when I asked about our trip.

Mama said it would be a surprise I’d never forget. Maybe that’s why she was so happy, and all that money in her hand that the man in the suit had given to her must’ve been too heavy for her to wave goodbye.

child peering out
Image Courtesy: Dmitry Ratushny
Leave a Reply

